Article 18 in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states:

“Everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to change his religion or belief and freedom, either alone or in community with others and in public or private, to manifest his religion or belief in teaching, practice, worship and observance.”

© Ismael Martinez Sánchez / ACN

We have, in fact, three classifications. The first, and lowest level, is “intolerance”. It is categorised by the repetition of uncontested messages portraying particular groups as dangerous or noxious in a society. This occurs principally on a social and cultural level. It can, however, be challenged by recourse to law. As “intolerance” exists to some degree all countries, we have put this in the category “Unclassified”.

The next category is “Discrimination”. This follows where intolerance goes unchecked. Discrimination occurs when oppressive laws or rules exist that apply only to a particular group rather than to society as a whole.

The third category is “Persecution”. This is an active programme to exterminate, drive away or subjugate a particular religious group. Violence frequently accompanies persecution.

More than ever before, freedom of religion and of conscience is under a constant state of attack in the world with 327 million people at risk of persecution or discrimination, simply because of their faith.  Read the report:

ACN Religious Freedom Report 2018 – Executive Summary Version

Thank you for availing yourself of this important information,  and for sharing it within your circles.

ACN Religious Freedom Report 2016 Executive Summary .

You can subscribe to our mailing list to know more about our work or visit our news page

Destruction de l’église de Batnaya

© Jaco Klamer / ACN

to read the full report go to: